Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

About us

Inter-school sport is played over three seasons during the school year on Thursday
afternoons (Thuringowa schools) and Friday afternoons (Townsville schools). The 
geographical boundary is Nathan Street. 

Each sport is managed by a sub-committee of volunteer teachers.

Season 1: Hockey, netball & rugby league - March to May

Season 2: Football, rugby union, tennis & touch - June to August

Season 3: Australian rules, basketball, cricket & softball - September to November

There are also sub-committees to manage the inter-school carnivals for swimming, cross country and track & field (athletics).

Townsville School Sport sub-committees oversee district trials for 12 years and under Townsville and Thuringowa teams who participate in the North Queensland trials for places in the North Queensland team, along with representative teams from the other NQ districts - Burdekin, Charters Towers, Herbert River and Whitsunday. 12 year old students in local secondary schools are also eligible to trial for these teams.

Townsville School Sport Executive 2019

President: Sandra Perrett, Principal (seconded to School Improvement Unit)
Wulguru State School

A/President: John Kratzmann
Kirwan State School 

Vice-President: Brett Hull, PE teacher
Annandale State School

Secretary: Debbie Quirk, Guidance Officer
Kirwan State High School

Treasurer: Toni Wilson, PE teacher/A/Deputy Principal
Wulguru State School


recognising teacher involvement in Townsville School Sport

5 years ​10 years ​20 years
​Carol Buchanan ​Alan Mynett ​Bill Nettle​
​Ken Bowles ​Brook Wilson
​Rhonda Battle ​Clare Plant
​Russ Bates Scott Taylor​
​Neville Fry​ ​Anne-Marie Day​
​John Fitzgibbons ​Debbie Quirk​